Jan 022017
 

DungeonologyDungeonology is one of those books that are not aimed at you but you still love them because it is gorgeous and, deep inside (or not so deep as the case might be) we all have a child in us.

This book, published in November 2016, is a collaboration between Wizards of the Coast, Candlewick Press and Templar Press. The lore of WOTC has come together with the know-how of two very experienced publishers who put out quality books for children.

And it shows. Dungeonology is lavish, extremely well written and truly gorgeous to look at, as you can see in the video.

Hope you enjoy it!

Wizards of the Coast site: http://dnd.wizards.com/

Candlewick Press link: http://www.candlewick.com/cat.asp?browse=Season&season=current&page=1&mode=list&pix=y&catheader=y

Templar Publishing: http://www.templarco.co.uk/

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Dec 312016
 

pic2496436Black Hat is one amazing game from Dragon Dawn Productions designed by the talented Timo Multamaki.

The game, for 2 – 6 players, puts you in the role of a hacker who has to race to the other side of the board to become the best hacker that ever was.

but in order to do that, you have to outwit your fellow hackers so you can be the first to act and take positions.

Will you have what it takes to play your cards well, act first and become the super hacker?

Publisher’s website: http://eu.dragondawnstore.com/

Boardgamegeek page: https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/148282/black-hat

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Aug 132015
 

interface_zeroI backed this game out of a recomentation and a bit of nostalgia. I have to say I wasn’t sure what to expect.

However the fact that it was going to come with a cover by Jeff Easley right away made me put mouse to work and back the Kickstarter.

Interface Zero 2.0 is a reboot of an old classic (or as old as a game can be old in a 40 years old industry) and it promised a lot. After some delays I got the book and as I opened it and browsed its pages I fell in love.

The way the book is written, the artwork, including the lovely cover by Aaron Acevedo, the setting… Everything is excellent.

But I won’t tell you all now. This video is my review of a game that, if you are interested in a cyber-punk near-future game, should be in your library.

Hope you enjoy the show!

If you have enjoyed this video, please consider becoming one of our Patreon sponsors. Thank you for your support.

patreon4242222222

Remember you can follow us on Twitter and Google+!

Thank you for your support

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
Jul 092015
 

world_book2Dragon Kings was funded in Kickstarter in 2013 with a fairly unrealistic delivery date and the promise of a lot; rulebook, CD with music inspired in the setting, PDFs, posters, more rule books for different systems…

But I backed it anyway because the setting sounded fantastic and the artists they had recruited to do some illustration and cartography are second to none. In fact the map of Khitus is absolutely breath-taking.

Dragon Kings also sold itself as the spiritual successor of Dark Sun, one of my favourite settings for Dungeons & Dragons since it was published in 1994, so regardless of everything I would have bought it.

Now, one year late, I have the setting book in my hands, the music CD in my library, the MP3s in my phone and the posters on my wall, so I am happy I got what I paid for. Almost.

The fact is that at the time of publishing this video I haven’t got the Pathfinder or Savage World rules supplement and there’s not been an update on the project since February 2015.

So, with all those issues and the fact the typography is not great (should have made more of an issue of that in the video) is it worth getting this book?

Well, yes. Very, very much so.

And in the video I tell you why!

If you have enjoyed this video, please consider becoming one of our Patreon sponsors. Thank you for your support.

patreon4242222222

Remember you can follow us on Twitter and Google+!

Thank you for your support.

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Sep 242014
 

insightThe Insight RPG System is a book that comes from a country that is not specially well known for their role playing games, Norway.

However I was contacted by the author and, although I have to say I was reluctant at first, I agreed to review this game.

Well… it’s not really a game as much as a game system. Insight is a compendium of rules that you’re meant to be able to apply to any setting of your own invention, or already invented – up to you, and run with it.

I am very sceptical of that sort of systems as I have never found them to be comprehensive or reliable enough to cover any and every eventuality.

This one is pretty good, though, and this video tells you why I think so.

If you have enjoyed this video, please consider becoming one of our Patreons.

patreon32

Remember you can follow us on Twitter and Google+!

Thank you for your support.

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 4.5/5 (2 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Incoming search terms:

  • insight rpg
Sep 162014
 

mindjammer_2e_sketch_cover[1]Those of you who follow me might know I am pretty obsessed with Mindjammer, the master piece that Sarah Newton has written to bless the world of RPG.

I fell so in love with this game that I had to write my review in two parts because I couldn’t bring myself to condense it and risk missing something.

And I couldn’t miss the chance to do a video review for those of you who prefer to hear/see what games are like and what reviews are like to make sure no one misses on this game.

I will say again that I said in my review: Probably the best Science Fiction game written to date.

If you have enjoyed this video, please consider becoming one of our Patreons.

patreon3

Remember you can follow us on Twitter and Google+!

Thank you for your support.

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 4.0/5 (1 vote cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)