Apr 092014
 

5902596936280[1]I have been very keen on eRaptor since I first laid eyes on their products jus over a year ago and I was very much hoping the company would grow both in size and in range.

It seems my hopes are being answered!

As well as having a terrific range of games mats to help you keep your gaming table tidy, a great range of ready-for-assembly boxes and some cards holders, they also have some lovely looking dice towers that can be assembled and dismantled in a matter of seconds.

True that they are not made to become antiques in the future; instead they are inexpensive and fun complements for your gaming table without any further pretence. And I like that.

But enough of my ramblings. Hope you enjoy the video and if you want to buy their products, their website is: http://e-raptor.pl/

 

If you have enjoyed this video review, please consider donating a small amount of money to help support this website or simply click the advert below. Every click helps us a great deal!

Remember you can follow us on Twitter and Google+!

Thank you for your support.

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Aug 272013
 

logo[1]Table space can be at a premium sometimes and some boards take *a lot* of space. And so do a lot of the meeples, tiles, cards, pawns, tokens… You get the drift.

e-Raptor is a Polish company that is doing its best to put a solution to that sort of problems, and some of their solutions are extremely crafty and satisfying!

Focusing on cost-effective components that perform well and are flexible, they have a rather impressive range of products to make the board game table a much more inviting place and easier to keep tidy. From simple to assemble dice towers and boxes, to lavish card holders and some really cool stands to keep all your game pieces in the right place.

This video is not an unboxing. This is more a review of what I thought of their products when they reached my table.

And I think you’ll want to buy some… You should indeed want to buy some.

Maybe all of them!

From Poland with Love, e-Raptor has a few neat add-ons for your table!
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Aug 082013
 

9781616616571_p0_v1_s260x420[1]By Paco Garcia Jaen

Somehow, Fantasy Flight Games has made a habit of publishing superb role playing games as well as board games. Their attention to detail and gorgeous visuals tend to be combined with a great novel approach to mechanics that tend to reflect the world around the game very well indeed. They have the common sense to count and ask people of great talent to design their games, like Jay Little.

To make matters better, they also have some excellent ideas sometimes, like the idea of creating a beginner’s game that will guide the players and GMs alike through the initial stages of setting up and playing the first game.

This is exactly what they did with the Star Wars: Edge of the Empire RPG. They also had a very well-crafted beta program to help them decide what to do with the game. Nice touch!

So this video is not just about taking a look at the components of the games, but to tell you a bit about the system and mechanics and, hopefully, help you decide if these games are for you or not.

Hope you enjoy the video!

Paco Garcia Jaen reviews Fantasy Flight Games’ Star Wars: Edge of the Empire
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (3 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: +3 (from 3 votes)

Incoming search terms:

  • edge of the empire review
  • star wars edge of the empire review
  • Fantasy Flights Star Wars rpg Review
  • flights fantasy star wars review
  • Star Wars Edge of the Empire reviews
  • star wars rpg review
  • warhammer fantasy edge of the empire
Aug 052013
 

pic1630901_t[1]By Paco Garcia Jaen

Not very often I do reviews in the website of boardgames or card games that are in pre-production stage and pretty much never if they are print & play. I don’t have anything against them. It’s just that’s not what i do.

However DUCO got me by surprise. It arrived with a sentence that makes me want to yawn:

“5 minutes to learn and a lifetime to master” – YAWN!

So it was with great reluctance that I brought it to the table and one of the reasons I did is because the pre-production quality is pretty amazing.

With that in mind, I decided to, not just tell you what the components are like, but also give you a review of the gameplay.

Hoppe you enjoy it!

Paco plays and reviews DUCO, a nice filler game!

If you have enjoyed this game review, please consider donating a small amount of money to help support this website.

Remember you can follow us on Twitter and Google+!

Thank you for your support!

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 4.7/5 (3 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
Mar 122013
 

pic1448983_t[1]Released at Spiel 2012 – at a push because of customs delaying the delivery of the games – Guildhall, from AEG, has been very well received and, with a short play time and simple rules, was very promising from the start.

This is what the the description of the game says:

Progress! That’s what these Dark Ages need, someone with a little get-up-and-go. You’ve been a serf in this one-pig town long enough, and it’s time to shake things up. You’ve opened a guildhall for like-minded professionals from all over Europe to work together, build their trades, and get some economic stability.

Now if only everybody else didn’t have the same idea…

Well, you’ll just have to do it faster than those other guys! Gather professionals into chapters, and use their combined might to reach for victory. Collect complete color sets of professions (all five colors of Trader, for instance), which you use to buy victory points (VP). The first player to gain 20 VP on her turn wins.

In Guildhall, each profession grants you special abilities, and these abilities grow stronger the more of the set that you complete. When you cash in the set for victory points, however, you lose the ability until you can build it up again. Which professions are worth risking VP to keep?

So was the wait from customs worth it? Are the contents of this box worth the money you pay to get your hands on it?

Let’s find out!

Paco Garcia Jaen unboxes Guildhal, from AEG.
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Feb 262013
 

pic1443243_t[1]For someone who doesn’t like football, I was well excited to get this game in the post and open the box.

Like most of us of certain age, I played Subbuteo with my brothers and friends. It was the only version of football I had a chance of scoring any goals and neither of us understood the off-side rule anyway, so we didn’t have to bother. Also, we didn’t have to go and fetch the ball after one of us kicked it too hard. That was annoying.

Soccero comes all the way from Finland, from a company called Gamina Ltd. and it is the only game they have listed in their website.

So, have they lived up to expectations with the production values of this game?

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)